Torchbearer

14/10/2019

A Poem by R.J Calzonetti 

"I wish I was well, because this poem would be much better then. For a friend"


I look at you like I'm looking in a mirror

Like you were me in a different life, like I've been there

I see the timid happiness you sometimes exude

Like I used to before I grew out of smiles


Now when I smile it feels like a fresh wound on face

Exposing the bone underneath, numbed flesh painted in pain

You are as new as a flower heated by the morning sun, the dew on the ground

While the whole world shivers


I lost my vision somewhere along this blind crusade against humanity

But I've seen better days before the blizzard slithered into the vineyard of my hell

Evil and good are a coin flip, and I don't have any change to spare


Maybe it's not too late for you

Maybe you can push through this pain

Sour is that disorganized hope for something you can't have is an obstacle course

But I'm going to beat my next challenge, climb the last mountain, my body's hollow alcove


Messy expeditions trying to climb this cliffside, the riptide

I lost my footing and fell from the bird's nest

I have no wings, just feet to hold up my pride,

But your light as a feather


You don't have to be a cog in the machine, a war engine of hate, or anger

To flutter on the wind like a sail lent ripped from the sky, I plummeted

It's so much easier for a crow to stick by the battlefield picking at scabs that are never going to heal

You could change things that are too late for me to say

To do, to live, you can be the best you can be still

You don't have to feel forgotten, you're not yet haunted

Fight, fight like every sword is paper, like every bullet is lead on the page


Let your being fly in the summer sky, the summit's isle, violet survivalist

Let the sun warm your heart, let the beat circulate like every poem is blood in your new veins

Restrain yourself, give your all, but never give it all away

The trees that deem symmetry with their fallen leaves weaving the ceiling into stars


The soul glints like iron hammered into cold hearts of steel

A fire is every life, burning to a crisp, turning to ash, just hot air

Let the kindling of flames be warm, rather than scalding in their indulgence


Let them light your way past the moon

Like the art flows universal maelstroms of meteoric euphoria from the endorphins Chlorophyll

The photosynthesis of ricocheting indifference to all the hate these people have

Because that is all we have sometimes


And when we take our first step, someone walked their last mile

The eclipse of life means we overshadow the last living soul with our own sparks

So stay wild child, compile the silos of violins of dynamic insanity, craft your Cleopatra

We only truly know a firework's beauty when it disappears in the rear-view mirror


Realize that the dead are torchbearers

That they cinder to shed light on our husk of a world

That that beautiful spirit evaporating on the condensation of aether matriarchs


I'm going to be the one to light up the stage like a spotlight's sun flaring arrogantly

Because we only have so much time to enjoy the show before it's over, before an encore

I plan to spend it blending nebula's bending pendulums clementine's of disassembled velvet

I think you can only paint the world in colour of Fall by running through these walls


When you stumble but continue, ever crack in the brick is just another window

Taller than symbols riddled in the equilibrium of imbalanced Valkyries

The alchemic assembly of choices are yours to make

The torchbearers carry the weight of the world, and set a fire in your soul, incorporeal


So when you feel pain, wear it like a sky blanketed in torchbearers gleaming like the moon

Enlightening the dark truths of this world, reflecting dyslexic

You have the right to bear your burden, you've earned your own eternity

Your heated soul purging metallurgy, melt their steel hearts


MC (Aurora) : Today a piece of my soul has been immortalized in the beauty of this poem! :)

Reviews System WIDGET PACK
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started